Shake shake shake (repeat), Shake your sports drink (repeat)

Homemade Sports Drink

A couple of years ago, I got one of those GI bugs and was pretty miserable for a few days. I decided to be kind to my digestive system by giving up cola (I’d typically drink 2 per day, non diet) because of all the sugar in it, as a way of helping my digestive system get back to a “happy” place.

Funny thing is, I found when I was feeling better and went to drink a cola, it seemed so egregiously sweet to me, I couldn’t stand to drink it. Instead, I switched to a somewhat less sweet alternative, Gatorade.

Fast forward another couple of years, and sadly I developed some much more serious medical problems. Thankfully I made it through those too. However, as a way to deal with the shock of that serious illness, I re-evaluated my approach to food and drink.

One choice I made was to eat as much organic food as possible. Another was to avoid processed foods as much as possible. Nothing off the deep end here. Just goals … and determination … to eat and drink better quality food. I’m not here to sell this approach to you. If you look at Gatorade and you think that looks like a good idea to put into your body, that’s okee dokee smokee with me.

If, on the other hand, you like more natural alternatives to that oddly colored beverage, but enjoy the flavor of it, then I think maybe you’ll like my more natural sports drink.

Materials:

  • 20 oz. bottle
  • tap water (I like to filter mine, just to remove some of the chlorine smell/taste)
  • 1/2 lemon (can substitute a True Lemon packet)
  • 1/2 lime (can substitute a True Lime packet)
  • table salt
  • sugar (I personally like turbinado sugar because it is less refined than the white stuff, and retains some trace minerals)

Procedure:

  1. Fill the 20 oz bottle with water — just a bit short of full.
  2. Wash the lemon. Squeeze in juice of 1/2 of a lemon. If organic and you like a bit more zing, you can micro-grate some zest into the bottle too.
  3. Wash the lime. Squeeze in juice of 1/2 of a lime. Like the lemon, if it’s organic and you want to, go ahead and add some lime zest into the bottle. (If you cannot get fresh lemons/limes, I find True Lemon / Lime to be an excellent substitute. It’s available online or at many major US grocery stores, usually near baking supplies.)
  4. Add a rounded 1/8 tsp of salt. If you want to increase the potassium content of your homemade sports drink, substitute a scant 1/4 tsp of Morton Lite Salt. (This boosts the electrolyte content a little.)
  5. Add 1 tbs and 1/4 tsp of the sugar. If this is not sweet enough, I originally started with 1 tbs + 1 tsp of sugar, but have gradually lowered the amount to the current 1 tbs + 1/4 tsp of sugar.
  6. Shake until all solids have dissolved.

One advantage of real lemons and limes is you can leave the pulp from squeezing in for a bit of added fiber.

The taste isn’t exactly Gatorade, but it’s good, and to me, going back to Gatorade makes my face pucker. Even though it has about 3-4 times as much sugar as this homemade alternative.

Leave a Reply

